Dear Egg,

eggyesterday, I had to defend you once again. People are slowly starting to accept you as a health food, but there are still plenty of them out there, who just don’t know you well enough to understand what a great little powerhouse you are! And then I had this conversation yesterday, when a woman called you a “useless dairy product”. Of course, I asked her why she would think that you are a dairy product at all. And she said, it was because you were sold in the dairy section right next to the milk. Given the choice, she’d rather buy the milk, because milk is “good for your your bones. Eggs just give you high cholesterol.” Can you believe such ignorance, little Egg?

Of course, I tried telling her that you are not dairy. And I also tried telling her that, when bought from happy chickens, who get to eat grass and bugs, you are full of great nutrients like: omega 3s, choline, selenium, biotin, carotenoids, manganese, Vitamin B12, iodine, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, and so much more! 

But she insisted, that your cholesterol hurts her body, and that she will not eat more eggs than absolutely necessary. I pointed out studies to her, that found no link between egg consumption and increased cholesterol. But, little Egg, at that point, I think I lost her already. I think, in her mind she had already wandered over to the cereal aisle where she would go and find enriched something or other cereal, fiber rich, and heart healthy. So, I let her go with the recommendation to research the subject a little more, so she can make an informed decision.

Dear Egg, I’m a believer! I have been eating lots and lots of your egg friends over the past three years. My cholesterol is fine, and so is my health. You are, and forever will be, my good friend. I love you hard boiled, fried, scrambled, as an omelet, quiched, or really, any way you are served.

Speaking of which, time for breakfast.

I love you,

Grokette

One thought on “Dear Egg,”

Leave a Reply

