Four months is a short time

UteliftingheavyshitFour months ago today right around this time I was asleep. Actually not just asleep. I was under pretty heavy general anesthesia. Here’s what wikipedia says about general anesthesia:

General anaesthesia (or general anesthesia) is a medically induced coma and loss of protective reflexes resulting from the administration of one or more general anaesthetic agents. A variety of medications may be administered, with the overall aim of ensuring sleepamnesiaanalgesia, relaxation of skeletal muscles, and loss of control of reflexes of the autonomic nervous system.

I’m still fascinated that this is even possible. And my gratefulness to my doctors is immense. They mixed the right cocktail to put me under, and then they managed to wake me up again. I can’t help thinking, that for a six hour procedure this is a big deal. Heck, they needed two guys just to keep me in that state of vegetableness.

I woke up in the afternoon in the intensive care unit, monitored closely for anything that might go wrong, with just a fraction of my liver left inside my body. They also removed my gallbladder. It’s a package deal. Get two for the price of one!

The journey ahead of me was going to be a long one. I was going to be in a lot of pain for a long time, and I was not going to be able to exercise until February. I would have to rely on others to take care of me, to make my food, to wash my laundry, to drive my kids to places. This surgery was going to be a life changer.

Here is what really happened:

My surgery was on October 16, 2013.

I was on my couch for 14 days more or less. I started walking short distances pretty much right away. On day 17 I started cooking. Within three weeks or so I was driving again.

I started exercising in December, modified, but I went back to CrossFit about twice a week. Then three times, then four times. In January I started doing pull ups. Last week I did a 140lbs back squat and a 205lbs deadlift, both numbers are PRs for me.

Yes, the surgery has been a life changer. I remember experiencing extreme gratitude for my doctors, nurses, and other medical personnel. But I had even more gratitude for my body. I do believe that my healthy diet (hooray for PALEO!!) and my physical fitness before surgery made it possible for me to snap right back. Somehow my body knew to survive and to heal. And it’s been functioning beautifully without its gallbladder, which is still a mystery to me. How does a body work without a gallbladder? Just like that? Is that not something to be extremely grateful for?

I surprised my doctors, and I continually surprise people I talk to who cannot believe that I just had major surgery a few months ago. I had the opportunity to talk with many people who have also undergone surgery. All of those who do not follow a paleo lifestyle have had some horror stories to tell about the length and problems of their recovery. It may be coincidence. I have no studies to support my theory. It’s is merely anecdotal evidence. But I choose to believe that the reason I am doing so well today is because I’ve changed my life for good three years ago, when I went paleo.

I’ve started writing a book (and it’s coming along nicely, though I’m also studying for my Nutritional Therapy course) talking about my experience, and it’s filled with advice on how to deal with modern medicine caveman style. 🙂

Happy 4 monthiversary to me!! Onward and upward!

Leave a Reply

