Quitting is easy…

Uteresting
It’s a good pant right there…

Yesterday, I went to CrossFit knowing the WOD would kick my butt. Five deadlifts (body weight), seven burpees, nine wall balls for a 15 minute AMRAP (as many rounds as possible). I hate burpees. I don’t just dislike them. I hate them. About three minutes into the WOD, I stood in front of my bar (which wasn’t loaded anywhere close to my body weight! Ha, are you kidding me?), panting, sweating, ready to give up. I discussed in my head, how I could make a quick and quiet exit. Just then, my coach walked over. I don’t know how the woman does it. She can somehow tell the difference between panting as in “Holy hell, this WOD is kicking my ass, and I love it” and “Holy hell, get me out of this place. I’m going to pass out”. She encouraged me to go on, to not give up. All I had left were 8.5 minutes. “I’m not feeling it”, I replied, ready to start crying. She said, “Think about this. You are here today. You are doing this. Three months ago you couldn’t. Today you can! Don’t give up now! Keep going!”

Oh, how I hated that she was right. I really, really didn’t want to continue. I had already decided in my head that I was going to quit. But now, there was another person right next to me, watching me, calling out encouraging words to me, and I had to continue. How could I quit, when she told me not to give up? Several minutes later I faced the wall for wall balls. I hate wall balls almost as much as I hate burpees. I stared at the wall listening to the dialogue in my head, when once again, I heard her voice in the background. “Come on, Ute! Almost done!” Damn that woman! Needless to say, I finished the WOD… I lay on my back panting for several minutes, then got up to put away my bar and ball, and the post WOD happy feeling set in.

Quitting would have been easy, but I wouldn’t have had the satisfaction of pushing through, of finishing my WOD. I thought about this all day and realized that situations like these happen to almost all of us at some point in our lives.

If you’ve ever tried to lose weight, finish school, write a paper, climb a mountain, then you have likely faced some frustration and wanted to quit. And most of the time, the reason you don’t is that you have someone in your life, who was there and who had your back.

So, the next time you face a difficult situation, whatever it may be, it’s probably a good idea to have your own little cheer squad, your personal coach or simply someone who knows how to keep you going. When you choose this person, be sure to find someone you know will push you to keep going. Don’t go for that friend who tells you it’s okay to give up, because there is always next time, next year, next decade. If you truly want to reach your goal, your confidante needs to know what it is, and they need to be willing to kick your derriere when you have a bad day. It is that simple.

Now go out and reach for the stars!

Leave a Reply

