Paleo Cinnamon Stars

cinnamonstars2I love Christmas cookies. They are my favorite during the season. They remind me of my childhood, of cozy tea times, of a beautiful tree, of family. Even now, that I eat largely paleo/primal, Christmas cookies are a MUST in my kitchen. This year I’m going to paleofy a bunch of my favorite Christmas cookies, including today’s recipes of “Cinnamon Stars”. I really, really love cinnamon stars, and they have only 5 ingredients.

Ingredients for Cinnamon Stars:

5 cups almond flour
1.5 cups hazelnut meal
1/2 cup coconut sugar (if you like it sweeter, add more!)
2 tbsp cinnamon
5 egg whites

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 280F.
Mix all dry ingredients together.
Beat the egg whites until they are very stiff, and set aside about 5 or 6 tbsp for the glaze.
Bit by bit, add the dry ingredients to the egg whites. Eventually I started using my hands, as the dough will get very thick.
On the counter spread a layer of almond flour and roll out the dough to about the thickness of a pinky. (Yeah, I know, terrible measurement)
Cut out the cookies and place them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. This is so much fun, and kids will love it!!
Mix a little extra coconut sugar (I cheated and used organic raw sugar, because I wanted to) into the remaining egg whites. How much you put in there is really up to you and how sweet you like it. I put in a tbsp. With a brush, spread the egg white glaze on all the cookies.
Bake the cookies around 35 minutes.

You can bake the cookies without the glaze, too. Then add a dark chocolate glaze instead. Whatever strikes your fancy.

And of course… enjoy!

Leave a Reply

