Paleo Apple Fritters

frittersOkay, I realize my food photography leaves much to be desired. I actually have a book called “Food Photography for Dummies” or something like it. Never checked it out… Maybe it’s time I do. 🙂 Well, these are my fabulous apple fritters which had my husband bow to me, and my kids devoured them before I even had a chance to sit at the table. Let’s call it a success, shall we? Of course, I’m  happy to share with all of you. And so, without further ado:

Paleo Apple Fritters

2 large apples (or 3 medium oness)
3 eggs
1/2 cup coconut milk
4 tbsp coconut flour
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp coconut sugar
cinnamon to taste

Peel and cute apple into bite sized pieces (you can see on the picture what mine looked like).
Whisk eggs for about a minute, then add coconut milk and continue mixing.
Add, vanilla, baking soda, coconut sugar, and cinnamon and mix in until well combined.
Your last ingredient is the coconut flour. I used a whisk, so I added one tbsp at a time. If you’re using an electric mixer, you can pour it all in at once. When everything is well combined, add the apple pieces and stir them in.
Heat a cast iron pan, until it is really hot, turn to medium heat, add plenty of coconut oil (or whatever oil you choose to cook with), and add the fritters. Experiment with the size and thickness. I found they’re harder to flip, if they’re too thick, so I left them thinner. I made sure they fit easily onto my metal spatula for easy flipping. Cook each side for about 5 minutes, or flip a couple of times to avoid getting them too dark.

They really are super delicious and can be enjoyed without any syrup. Of course this is entirely up to you. As for the sweetener. I like coconut sugar, but of course you could use honey, stevia, or whatever you prefer.

Bon appetit!

3 thoughts on “Paleo Apple Fritters”

Leave a Reply

