Another Sugar Update

alliswellI think it’s time for another update. First of all, I do want you to know what’s going on with me. Secondly, I feel that the changes in my body are so significant, that it needs to be mentioned. First things first… I am feeling significantly better all around. I work out better, I am in a better mood, and I have ZERO guilt about giving in to cravings. Also, I am much better tuned into my body’s needs. For instance, on days I work out really hard (which is kind of what CrossFit does for ya all the time), my body will tell me in no uncertain terms that it needs something. In the past I tried to fix this by giving it more protein and more fat. Granted this would fill me up pretty well, but I still dragged for a good part of the day. I still do eat protein right after my workouts! But then I eat what my body really wants! And if after a nectarine I am still craving something sweet, I will eat it!

Thanks to eating protein first, my cravings for something sweet are usually pretty easy to control. Did I have a pig out day? Absolutely. A Grocery Outlet nearby sold German chocolate very cheap. I bought a ton of it, and on that same day I ate a whole bar, worth 520 or so calories. I then threw the wrapper right on top of the trash in the garbage can, rather than to bury it somewhere underneath. Nobody commented on it, nobody gave me a hard time. I was not in trouble. Imagine that, I am all grown up after all.

These days I eat something sweet every day. One day it might be only fruit, another it’ll be brownies that I made, or homemade paleo granola bars, or a few pieces of chocolate, or whatever my heart desired. The understanding that I was allowed to do this was so liberating, it almost made me cry. I am a new person, and I am finally happy with who I am, because I am truly in charge of me!

But what about being paleo/primal? 

We’ve established a while ago, that paleo/primal is merely a template for a way of life. No matter how much the various paleo gurus push their agenda, it will mean nothing if YOU end up unhealthy. For example, a few weeks ago I listend to Jason Seib and Sarah Fragoso speak. Both are brilliant human beings, and I admire their drive and intelligence. Jason is a walking, talking science encyclopedia… who will have you know that you absolutely do not need sugar of any sort, because caveman did not have it either. And when you live your life a certain way, then this sounds right and true. But here’s the thing, I don’t live my life that way. I do CrossFit four to five times a week (he told me that I was crazy and should not do that). I do it because I love it, because I am a better person for it. (Hey, I deadlifted 195lbs this morning! This is more than I’ve ever lifted before!) We can leave it up to debate whether or not this amount of working out is beneficial to the human body. You will find pros and cons to every subject out there, and usually each side will have the science to back up their statements.

My conclusion to this is: no two people are exactly alike. No two people live exactly the parkour2same life. You may sit all day or work on your feet. You may wake early and go to sleep late or the other way around. You may eat a lot of meat, very little vegetables, and lots of nuts, or you may eat mostly fish, mostly red meat, mostly white meat, mostly vegetables… You may be a CrossFitter or a Yoga instructor, or a Zumba fan. You may be a career driven person or a stay-at-home mom.

All of these factors, in addition to genetics and hormones play a role in how you should eat, want to eat, like to eat. I’m a big fan of Jason and Sarah, and I love Robb Wolf, who won’t eat dairy, and I love Mark Sisson, who will. All of these wonderful, intelligent, and brilliant people have found ways to optimize their health. And the information they offer is valuable and important. And it works perfectly for some and needs a little tweaking for others.

My paleo is different from yours. And that is perfectly okay!

What about the weight loss? Any progress there?

I’m glad you asked! Yes, I am seeing progress, although I have not weighed myself since the beginning of my experiment. But I can actually see a difference in my appearance now. My belly is smaller, my pants fit much better! Also, I’m starting to see a lot more muscle definition in my arms and shoulders, and in my calves. My favorite ring easily goes on and off my finger. These are the little signs that confirm that what I’m doing is right, that it works for me.

So, if you haven’t found your way yet, keep looking. Keep refining, keep changing things up a bit. Don’t feel like you are stranded, because you’ve been paleo for so many months and haven’t seen any change in your weight, or you don’t feel quite right… If this is the case, then chances are, you have found a great template, and now it’s time to make it your own!

One thought on “Another Sugar Update”

  1. Thank you so much. I really needed to hear this. I haven’t lost any weight and have been feeling like a failure. I am not going to give up, but will work to make more changes to get this right. On the bright side, I feel really great!

Leave a Reply

