German Style Rhubarb Cake

rhubarbcakeWhen I was a little girl, my parents grew rhubarb in the backyard. I remember vividly running around the yard in the warm sun, and picking stalks of rhubarb, which we ate right then and there. Every year my brother and I got in trouble for eating too much rhubarb. We were told that too much rhubarb gives you a stomach ache, and that the leaves are poisonous. Well, we didn’t eat the leaves, because we were simply too scared of dying a slow and painful death, but we couldn’t help ourselves eating the stalks. Rhubarb cake was one of my favorite treats. A Sunday afternoon in summer, out on the deck, chowing down the delicious rhubarb cake with extra whipped cream… Oh, the memories…

Many years later, on my trip down memory lane, I realized that there is one thing I never did make as an adult… Rhubarb cake. And because I don’t eat any grains, here was another great recipe to paleofy! ๐Ÿ™‚ So, without further ado… here is your German style rhubarb cake… which, by the way, disappeared in a couple of days.

Ingredients:

1 cup plus 2 tbsp butter
1 cup coconut palm sugar
3 cups almond flour
3 tbsp tapioca flour
1 swish of vanilla extract
1 heaping tsp baking powder
2 eggs
4 egg yolks
4 egg whites
2 lbs or so rhubarb
1 more cup coconut palm sugar

Preheat oven to 380F.

Peal rhubarb and cut into half inch pieces.

Mix soft butter, coconut palm sugar, almond flour, tapioca flour, vanilla extract, baking powder,2 eggs, and 4 egg yolks in a mixing bowl until it becomes a nice dough. Spread on greased cookie sheet or (or a lined cookie sheet… I have one of those silicone liners) and cover with the rhubarb pieces. I happened to have some strawberries left, that I cut up and put in the cake as well. Bake the cake for about 25 to 30 minutes. The edges will start turning brown. That’s how you know it’s ready to come out.

In the meantime beat the egg whites. After a minute or so, slowly add 1 cup coconut palm sugar. Beat until stiff peaks have formed. Spread this mixture evenly on the cake, then bake for another 10 minutes or so. Watch out, the egg white mixture will turn brown if you bake it too long, so you want to keep an eye on it.

You can make this cake on a cookie sheet, or with two springforms if you’d like it to look a little more formal. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, the cake does taste best on the next day… if I say so myself!

Leave a Reply

