Kid Friendly and Approved Paleo Chili

chiliSince switching to Paleo I have seen lots of different versions of chili. I’ve also tried lots of them, and fortunately my kids are not very complicated in general when it comes to food. My daughter is a little more of a picky eater, but my son will eat just about anything you put in front of him. This is great for us of course, but I know a good number of people who are constantly struggling to get enough nutrients into their children. My chili will do the trick for some of you out there, I’m sure. It was approved not only by my own children (both of whom gobbled down the leftovers the next day), but also by my friend’s daughter. All of the kids were blissfully unaware of the fact, that this chili was loaded with yummy veggies. šŸ™‚ Here goes!

Ingredients:

1 zucchini
a handful of carrots
1 acorn squash
1 onion
1 clove of garlic
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 mason jar of chicken or beef stock
2 lbs ground beef
paprika, cumin, chili powder

Instructions:

Warm up the squash and carrots any which way you like. If you are not opposed to microwaving, it will take a fraction of the time you spend doing it otherwise, but I know, microwaving is not ideal. Scoop the squash out of the skin. Dice all vegetables into bite sized pieces and toss them into a hot pan with some bacon grease or butter or coconut oil.
Add the canned tomatoes, and cook everything for a few more minutes. Now add everything to a food processor or blender (I used my Magic Bullet), and process everything until it’s a thick veggie sauce/soup.
Brown the ground beef thoroughly and season with salt, pepper, and paprika.
Add all ingredients into a slow cooker, pour in the chicken or beef stock, and season as you like. Not all kids are into cumin, so you could leave that out. You’ll know your kids best. As I said before, none of the kids were aware of all the great stuff in this chili (although I did tell my own kids later and they thought that was awesome!).
You’ll want to cook your chili in the slow cooker on LOW for about 3 to 5 hours. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

