Rich Food Poor Food… a quick review

Better late than never… here’s a quick review of Rich Food Poor Food, written by Jason and Mira Calton. I had the pleasure of receiving a couple of free copies, one of which I will be giving away to one of you! šŸ™‚

The book is made up a little bit like a magazine. Short chapters, lots of pictures, easy language, glossy pages. The first three chapters or Part 1 focuses on educating your average shopper on food labeling and how to navigate the book.

In Part 2 the reader is taken on a “walk” around the grocery store. You start in aisle 1: dairy! A quick guide to everything there is to know about dairy (like pasteurization, homogenization, Vitamin D and more) is followed by “Food for Thought”, “Alternate Route to Health”, and finally recommendations for brands of milk and which to avoid. This section is called Steer Here and Steer Clear and is repeated in each aisle. Another helpful “tool” is the checkout checklist at the end of each product. The book has just become a workbook. Smart!!

The book is not entirely paleo or even primal, so I actually don’t use the grains aisle at all. But I did get some good advice from the other aisles. Every so often I ask myself whether or not I should buy this brand of chia seeds or that. Or I find myself looking at a bag of “something” and wonder whether or not I should throw it in my cart. I like the brand recommendations.

My favorite aisle has to be the snack aisle, and it’s really for two pages within the snack aisles. Pages 228 and 229. These two pages focus on nuts, the need for soaking, how much salt to use, and what’s in the nuts.
You’ll find almonds, brazil, cashew, peanut, hazelnut, macadamia and so many more!

A word of warning… not all of us are lucky enough to live in an area with health food stores, or even access to high quality meat and produce at all times. The authors tend to turn their noses a little bit at lower quality foods, which, to your average American shopper, can be a bit of a turn-off. However, personally I would not let this keep me from purchasing the book. In the end, we are all responsible for our own decisions and choices.
Some of you may be forced to set some priorities, such as buying only good meats, but when it comes to produce you may simply stick with the Dirty Dozen and the Clean 15. This book can still be for you, because eventually you’ll end up in one of the center aisles at your store… or you’ll wonder which yogurt to buy, which brand of milk to stay away from, and you’ll have your answer right there in your book.

Would I buy the Kindle version or the paperback? Personally I’m a paperback kinda girl when it comes to anything non-fiction, because I do like to work with the book, turn back a few pages, stick a note in there, write something in with a pen. If that’s you, spend the few more dollars on the paperback version. Otherwise the slightly cheaper Kindle version will do just fine for you.

Of course there IS the option to win a copy! How?
Share my Facebook page on your timeline and comment “Done” on my Facebook post about the giveaway, or post on my timeline. You have until Sunday, March 17 at 9pm PST! Good luck!

One thought on “Rich Food Poor Food… a quick review”

Leave a Reply

