Paleo Apple Cake German style

As a German I like cake. As my father’s daughter (he was a pastry chef and baker) I really like cake. And as my grandmother’s granddaughter I know of my German duty to have breakfast at 7:30am, lunch at noon, coffee and cake at 3pm, and dinner at 7pm.

Okay, it’s not quite like that at my house, but I do love the German tradition of having cake as an afternoon snack, rather than in combination with dinner, the way it is done here in the States. But, I’ll leave it up to you when and how you prefer to indulge in this treat. Just please do remember, this is a treat… not to be consumed on a daily basis. πŸ˜‰ The paleo police is watching!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup honey
1 cup almond flour
2 tbsp coconut flour
5 tbsp coconut coconut oil (melted)
4 eggs
2 apples
1 tsp baking powder

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 340F (or 170C).

Combine eggs and honey in a bowl and mix with an electric mixer until well combined and fluffy.
In a separate bowl mix almond flour, coconut flour, and baking powder, add to wet ingredients and mix well. Now add the melted coconut oil and mix again.

Peel and take out cores of two apples, cut them into small, thin slices, and mix them into your batter.

Now pour the batter into the baking pan (I used a 9” springform) and bake for 30 minutes, cover with aluminum foil and bake for another 10 minutes. Done!

Let it cool for a while. We tried it when it was still slightly warm. Lots of caveman-ish moaning and grunting going on for sure! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!!

UPDATE!

You can double up this recipe, and add cinnamon and raisins. After baking for 45 minutes, cover with aluminum foil and bake at 350F for another 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

5 thoughts on “Paleo Apple Cake German style”

  1. Yum, this looks good! Bet it would be good with pecans or walnuts too. I need to try this sometime this week as I have apples that need to be used. Thanks!

  2. Haha, finally some fellow compatriot speaking my language!!!! I am originally from Germany (this is my 20th year here in the USA), and cake as an afternoon snack is what we do at our house. Great recipe – I will follow your blog for more πŸ™‚
    Carola

  3. Hi everyone, I am from originally from Russia and we have absolutely same cake we call “Sharlotka ” ( have no idea where name came from ) with one difference – we put apples on the bottom of the dish and then pour batter over . Some ppl I know mix them together like in this recipe. Being on GAPS it’s a great discovery I can do very similar recipe . And I just did ! Love it πŸ™‚ it’s not as fluffy like with wheat flour but very great taste and not hard or soggy . Yam! Thank you a million for the recipe !

  4. I made 2 of these today and it was amazing!!!! Do you think it will freeze well? I’d like to freeze one for Friday….some ladies are coming over, and I thought this would make a delicious treat!

Leave a Reply

