A niche for me

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

I think I’ve heard that question asked for the first time when I was about 4 years old. I think my reply was that I wanted to be a kindergarten teacher (because I really loved my kindergarten teacher… Note: In Germany you start kindergarten at age 3 instead of preschool).

At 10 years old I heard the question more often. I think it’s interesting how people are under the impression that a 10 year old knows what they want to be when they grow up. A 10 year old knows what she wants to be now. So, my answer at that age was, “egg seller”. In my small hometown we had a woman who drove around town once a week, selling farm fresh eggs from the back of her car. She was the nicest lady, and she always had time to chat with the neighbors. I loved being sent out to get eggs from her. I was convinced, that some day she’ll be done selling eggs, and she’ll let me take over for her. Egg seller was the job of my dreams. Of course my parents didn’t share my dream. I was told that there is no school in the world who would educate egg sellers.

I spent my teenage years wanting all kinds of things. They always included a ton of money, a fast car, a fancy condo, and stilettos. Marriage and children… I was going to leave that up to others. My mom had done a fantastic job convincing me that I could do better. (Better than kids? Is there anything better?)
Then I got pregnant at age 19. My daughter was born two weeks before my 20th birthday.
I became a cosmetologist, then a telemarketer. Then I moved to the States, and I had two more children. I was 26 when my second daughter was born, 28 when I had my son. I was a translator, a Body Shop home party consultant, sold gift baskets, and eventually turned to writing. I self-published a novel and a number of articles. But in all honesty I still didn’t REALLY know what I wanted to be when I grow up.

And then Paleo came into my life. I started this blog, created my Facebook page, and I found the BEST JOB IN THE WORLD at FastPaleo.com. I have the greatest conversations with a ton of people who share my passion for food. I write blog posts about subjects that are close to my heart.

If you asked me now, what I want to be when I grow up, my answer would be, “Someone awesome like Mark Sisson or Melissa and Dallas Hartwig or Robb Wolf or James Gregory.” This summer I will start a course for Nutritional Therapy! I am thrilled about this opportunity, and to think that I will make this paleo/primal lifestyle my career, has me bouncing off the walls.
But, well, I still needed my niche. Let’s face it… we don’t need more Sissons or Wolfs. They got their niche covered. And boy, are they awesome. I couldn’t ever compete with them, and I don’t care to.

So, where is that niche of mine? I’m actually feeling a little silly for not coming up with this answer any sooner. For one, I’m writing a book… a different one. No science in my book. You’ll just have to wait and see.

But what’s better… I’m German!! I grew up in a corner of Germany that borders to Switzerland and France. I have tasted some of the greatest German, Swiss, and French food around. And I have a ton of recipes that are just waiting to be paleofied! I have compiled a list of over 200 recipes from Germany, Switzerland, France, and Austria. And my plan is to paleofy them over the course of the next few months! And I’m going to share them with you! I’m going continuously grow this list… and I’ll add Polish, Dutch, Belgian, Spanish, Italian and other countries.

I am so excited about this, as it feels like I’ve finally found what is right for me. I will post no more than two recipes per week to begin with. Don’t want to overwhelm myself. I still have a family, I homeschool my children, I have my fabulous job. I love all of these things, and want to do them well. All of them.

I’m 38… and I THINK I finally know what I want to be when I grow up. 🙂

One thought on “A niche for me”

Leave a Reply

