Pumpkin bread a la me

Before sharing this recipe with you, let me mention, that there is a cup of tapioca flour in there. Tapioca flour, as you know of course, is a starch, and you can read all about it here.

Tapioca is not a staple of our diet of course, as we generally steer clear from too many starches, but paleo life doesn’t necessarily mean that you cannot eat any starches. So, if you eat tapioca every now and then, go ahead and give this bread a try.

It’s a little bit on the sweeter side. Enjoyed with butter or almond butter and honey, it tastes absolutely delightful. Of course you could just eat it plain. So, yes, I did have a bite of this on day 19 of my Whole30… I gotta be able to tell you about it, right? It rose beautifully, didn’t collapse when taken out of the oven, and the only thing I wish I had done differently was to add the aluminum foil a little sooner, so the top would have turned quite so dark.

Ingredients:

2 cups almond flour
1 cup tapioca flour
4 eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 to 2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat oven to 350F. In a bowl add all dry ingredients and mix well. In a separate bowl whisk together all wet ingredients. Add dry to wet ingredients and mix until well combined. Pour the batter into a well greased loaf pan, and bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. After about 35 minutes of baking, cover the bread with aluminum foil to keep it from turning too dark.

This was an experiment for me, so I started inserting a toothpick at 50 minutes. At that time it was still really gooey. Even when I finally did take it out at 1 hour and 15 minutes, I left it sitting with the aluminum foil on for another half hour or so.

The kids love it. So I’m calling it a success!

Leave a Reply

