A (not so) sweet treat for you :)

I had the urge to try something new today. Not that I’ll actually be eating it right now, since I’m still on my Whole30, but I’ll admit that I had a small bite, and I loved it.

This treat is for all of you who don’t want it too sweet. No honey or other sweeteners involved. The only sweetener in there are the figs.

Ingredients:

approximately 1 cup of hazelnuts (I forgot to take exact measurements for the nuts)
14 black mission figs (sundried and unsweetened)
1/4 cup expeller pressed coconut oil
2 to 3 tbsp chia seeds
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
coconut flakes (optional)

Instructions:

In a food processor chop hazelnuts until coarsely chopped. Add the figs and coconut oil, and process for a couple more minutes. Now add chia seeds and cocoa powder and process for several minutes, until the hazelnuts have reached a fine consistency, and you can easily press the mixture like you would with cookie dough.

Press mixture into an 8×8 or 9×9 brownie pan (sprinkle with coconut flakes if you want) and set in refrigerator or freezer to cool. When cooled off, cut into small pieces or bars. It’s a truly delicious (not so) sweet treat!

2 thoughts on “A (not so) sweet treat for you :)”

  1. If you're not into chia seeds, you could either just leave them out or replace them with some flax meal. I haven't tried it that way, but I think that should work.

Leave a Reply

