Brussels Sprouts fritters… Paleo style

Someone posted a recipe for Brussels Sprouts fritters on Facebook today. I can’t for the life of me find that link, or I would credit the person who gave me the idea for this. I did have to make some changes, because the recipe I found was not paleo.

First of all, let me tell you… these things were delicious! Secondly, I don’t have exact measurements for this recipe. But bear with me. It’s not that difficult to make. And oh my gosh, they tasted delicious and disappeared quickly. I could have made twice as many, and they would still have all been eaten up tonight. Good stuff!

Instructions:

2 cups thinly slices Brussels Sprouts (I did this with a sharp knife)
3 eggs
1 tbsp coconut flour
some almond flour (see recipe for more instructions)
5 shallots thinly sliced
salt and pepper to taste
coconut oil for frying

Mix together the sprouts and shallots, add the eggs, the coconut flour and start mixing. Then let sit for about 10 minutes to let the sprouts soak up the moisture.

Now add a dash of almond flour (maybe 2 to 3 tbsp), stir thoroughly. Try to form a patty. If it falls apart in your hands, add just a bit more almond flour. I think I ended up using approximately 5 tbsp or so.

Make a patty. This doesn’t make great patties, but they shouldn’t fall apart in your hands. (If they still fall apart too easily, you need to either let them sit a little longer or experiment with eggs and almond flour.)

Heat a skillet, add coconut oil and carefully place patty in the skillet. Cook on medium to medium high for several minutes before carefully turning over and cooking for several more minutes. I made sure to always have plenty of coconut oil in the pan.

The patties turned out nice and crispy! Delicious!!

Leave a Reply

