Shrimp and leftovers dinner

Darn, I almost forgot to take a picture of this. The plan was to get a really good one in the wok. Alas, I didn’t remember until I was done eating… and my son had devoured about half of his plate.

Today was leftover day around here. For lunch I made a quick tomato soup with leftover chicken. This can be made in about 15 minutes. Toss a jar of chicken stock, a cup or two of water (depending how much you want to make), a can of tomatoes, and some spices into a pot. I like to season with salt, pepper, paprika, turmeric, curry, and some chili powder. Add cut up chicken, cook for 15 minutes, and it is done. For me and my husband I added avocado pieces to our bowls, for the kids we added cheddar cheese. Super easy and quick, and you can get rid of leftovers that way.

For dinner I browsed FastPaleo.com for ideas. I had plenty of leftovers from my week. I wanted to make something with shrimp. I can only recommend this method for cooking leftovers. Browse fastpaleo.com for recipes using your main ingredient as a search term. I found several recipes for shrimp, skimmed through them, then checked my fridge. I had broccoli, cauliflower, bacon, tomatoes, salsa, and garlic. Perfect.

Instructions!

Thaw 1lb of cooked shrimp under running water. Heat coconut oil in a wok, until it is very hot. Cook shrimp on high heat for a couple of minutes. I actually had to drain the liquid a couple of times. So be aware of that. Season with salt, chili powder, paprika. Then set aside.
In the same pan (I drained again, but you can leave the liquid in the pan if you prefer) stir fry the vegetables and bacon you’re going to use. In my case that was the broccoli and cauliflower… But you can use any leftover veggies really.
Add about a half to 3/4 cup of salsa, a diced tomato, a large clove of garlic (chopped), stir it, cook for a few more minutes. You can stir fry your vegetables for a good 10 minutes, then add the shrimp, cook for another couple of minutes. Season to taste. Sprinkle lime juice all over and mix it up well.

Feel free to add any amount of coconut oil if you ever feel that your food is getting too dry. Again, I drained the liquid in the beginning, because I prefer it that way. But this meant I had to add a bit of coconut oil to the vegetables after a few minutes.

Again, a stir fry like this can be made quickly and easily. You can use just about any vegetable for it… Carrots, turnips, spinach (at the very end), peppers, mushrooms… or anything like that. 🙂

This was so good! And I have almost no leftovers in my fridge tonight. Tomorrow I’ll post a new meal plan for the week.

Leave a Reply

