Food is for the soul… and my meal plan this week

Aaaah, food! The scent of it fills the kitchen and sometimes the entire house long before you sit down to eat. Sniffing the herbs and spices, the meat and vegetables stimulates the senses, and quite literally makes your mouth water.

Then you sit down to a beautifully arranged meal, with family or friends and enjoy every bite, only to be amazed at the taste explosion happening inside your mouth. This may sound like a badly written novel, but the truth is that I mean every word of it. Not only do I love to cook, but I thoroughly enjoy to eat. I love to taste the result of my work, and yes, I love how it makes me feel. Even more so now that I’m back home from a 3 week “fell off the bandwagon and ate a ton of crap” trip to Germany. Everyone in my family agrees, eating paleo feels good, it feels right, and of course it tastes delicious.

Food is for the soul, because you don’t just nourish your body. You nourish your mind, you satisfy cravings and stimulate your senses. You take a break from everyday life to sit and eat. You engage in meaningful conversation. This is why I am looking forward to each meal. It forces me to slow down, to relax and breathe. Even when I’m alone for a meal, I make a point of taking time, decorating it nicely on my plate.

Why do you think the French have no word for fast food? Because food is for the soul.
Why do you think the Romans, Greeks, and Egyptians had great feasts? Because food is for the soul.

As someone who eats paleo, you have already committed to making better choices. Now I urge you to commit to really enjoy it. Spend a few extra minutes decorating your food nicely on a plate. Sit down at a table, ideally with the TV off, so you don’t have any distractions. Really enjoy every bite. Don’t rush if you don’t have to. See for yourself if your food is for the soul. πŸ™‚

So what’s on the list this week?

Taco Soup
Spicy Chicken Spaghetti
Pulled Pork Tenderloin from the slow cooker (my own recipe)
Beefy Mexi Cauli Rice
Goulash (my own recipe)
Baked Chicken (my own recipe)

I’ll post my own recipes throughout the week. πŸ™‚ Yum!! Oh yes, food is for the soul!!!

One thought on “Food is for the soul… and my meal plan this week”

  1. I just said "I love food!" to LK last night at the dinner table as I was relishing the deliciousness of my Paleo Beef Stroganoff. And I thought the same thing tonight. Yes, my friend, food is for the soul. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

