Hungarian Goulash… paleo style

No, this is not the final picture of the amazing Hungarian style goulash I made today. I quite simply forgot to take a picture of it once it was in my bowl. I couldn’t wait to eat it. And boy, was it ever delicious!!!

I used this recipe as a guideline, but tweaked it quite a bit. Instead of stew meat I used a chuck roast. The reason I did this is that I just can’t seem to make any good roasts, and I really didn’t want to waste anymore good grass fed beef on a meal I don’t enjoy. I browned the beef, then added it to my Crockpot, then browned onions and garlic, and also added it to the Crockpot. Then I added a can of tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, and a jar of beef stock, seasoned the whole thing with salt, pepper, paprika, and some cumin powder. I cooked it on low, and after about three hours added the green bell peppers (I used two of those). The goulash cooked on low for almost 8 hours. The meat came out super tender, and the goulash tasted awesome. Not very spicy at all, which was nice for my kids. It was definitely a great fall recipe on yet another rainy Oregon day. 🙂

Tomorrow I’m going to try to paleofy Danish butter cookies. I had a request for those, and I do love a challenge.

Got anything that you really want paleofied? Let me know… I may (or may not) give it a try. 😉 Just comment here or on my FB page. 😦

Leave a Reply

