Is this Paleo?

I think it is safe to say that all modern cavemen agree what constitutes a paleo diet… in general. Meat, vegetables, fruit, nuts, seeds, and berries. We have plenty of evidence indicating that this is what our ancestors ate.

I think it is also safe to say that we all understand how lucky we are to get our hands on raw honey in the winter, bananas year round, and meat comes out of a freezer.

And finally, the majority of us have learned that not all modern cavemen agree on the subject of dairy… hence the differentiation between paleo and primal folks out there. During the few months I’ve worked for FastPaleo.com (and these months have been nothing short of amazing!) I’ve read many, many comments from readers, cooks, cavepeeps… To serve everyone in the cavepeople community we cater to dairy and non-dairy eaters. Of course this has also created some “controversy” as many ask, sometimes in disbelief, sometimes with utter disgust, what we are thinking to post “this” recipe as PALEO when it clearly is not.

It is important, as you embark on your paleo journey to keep an open mind. You proved once that you are willing to break out of the prison of conventional wisdom by ditching all grains and sugars. Please don’t stop there. Yes, you’ve learned a valuable lesson about diet and exercise. You know that those so called healthy whole grains mess with your gut, and that saturated fat is good for you. Don’t let this make you arrogant. Don’t feel like you are done learning, that from this day forward there will be nothing new to learn about nutrition, health, and exercise.

Us humans have only just begun to understand what we should eat to stay fit and strong. Not all things we added to our diet after our ancestors settled down and discovered agriculture, are bad. When you do your homework on dark chocolate, raw honey, red wine, and bacon, do so with the open mind of a scientist. Only if you are willing to adjust your ways now and in the future you will really become better and healthier.

Dr. Loren Cordain is an excellent example of just such a scientist. In his first book he recommends eating only lean meat, promotes the use of canola oil, and suggests to steer clear of salt. In the meantime he has adjusted his views on all of these issues. He has admitted his mistakes publicly and moved on with his new knowledge to a better and healthier life, which is ultimately everyone’s goal…

So, I urge you to really research, do your homework. Don’t be a blind follower. Take charge and make YOUR decisions based on what YOU find to work for yourself.

7 thoughts on “Is this Paleo?”

  1. Thanks for this post! Too often it feels like people use their food choices as a platform to discriminate against those who don't choose to eat exactly as they do! Choosing to do what is best for your body should be encouraged! We are vibrant different people, and maybe if we listened with open hearts and open minds a little more often we could learn from each other.

  2. Good post, Ute! I am amazed at what I continue to learn through my nutritional therapy training too. There is always room to grow, learn, be open minded, go outside the lines, and admit when we are or were wrong! I've changed SO much since I started this journey over 2 years ago. I used to be obsessed with achieving the perfect body and tweaking the diet to be *perfect*. Well, after a while I realized that I was bordering on being "disordered". I am now a "nutrient seeker"- a term I learned from Liz Wolfe. I also try to refrain from judging, being a "food Nazi" and not beating myself up if I go "outside the lines" on occasion. Now I focus on truly taking care of my mind and body and I still feel I am a work in progress and always will be!

  3. Holly, I'm excited to hear how much you love your course. It looks like I'll finally be able to register for the course that starts in September of 2013. I'm very happy, as I've already been able to help a number of people make the switch to paleo.

Leave a Reply

