Onion cake… Zwiebelkuchen

In Southern Germany, fall is the season of new wine (the stuff that tastes like apple juice but makes you drunk like wine) and Zwiebelkuchen. Zwiebelkuchen is sort of like pizza topped with onions and bacon. The two foods combined make for a fun evening… and a very gassy next day. 😉

Of course going paleo meant having to pass on this delicacy… until of course The Unrefinded Kitchen shared a recipe for an amazing pizza crust. I used the pizza crust a couple of times for pizza, and we really love it. It occurred to me today, that it may also work for my Zwiebelkuchen. And yay, I was right. I do think changing my baking times just a tad was the right thing to do… And here it is:

Prepare the pizza crust as posted in the link above. But bake it maybe 9 minutes or so. While the crust is baking, get started on the topping. When the crust is done, take it out of the oven, set it aside for a little bit, and turn the oven temperature to 400F.

For the topping use:

2.5 to 3lbs onions sliced
about 6 strips of bacon sliced into 1/4 inch pieces
3 eggs
half a cup of heavy whipping cream
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
salt, pepper, paprika

In a hot pan cook the bacon for a couple of minutes, then add the onions. Cook both for several minutes until onions start to caramelize, then let cool for a few minutes. Mix eggs, whipping cream, vinegar and spices together, pour into the cooled onion/bacon mixture and stir well. Spoon the mixture onto the crust.
Bake for about 20 minutes at 400F.

I served this with a green salad. For the dressing I used 3 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper and 1 clove of garlic.

My family loved this dinner. But more importantly, I LOVE IT too. There is nothing quite as awesome as bringing memories from home into MY home. I am always more homesick in the fall and winter, when the days are shorter and darker, and we huddle together in the living room. It’s when I wish I had my parents, my brother, my family around me. I have beautiful memories of my childhood, the foods we ate, and the good times we spent together. To bring some of this into my home now, and relive the past is most precious and very needed.

I hope you all enjoy this recipe… especially you Germans out there. 🙂

One thought on “Onion cake… Zwiebelkuchen”

Leave a Reply

