Raclette and Pumpkin Streusel Pie… yum!

Every now and then I have a craving for Raclette, a European cheese dish, as seen on this picture. You put slices of raclette cheese on these little pans and slide them into your table top stove thingy. Raclette can be enjoyed with all kinds of vegetables and bacon. I like pickled everything with this, plus zucchini, mushrooms, onion rings and whatever else I find in the fridge. Raclette time is also a time for the occasional potato. I don’t miss potatoes, but they belong with this dish. In Germany we’d sit around the table all night long, eat and talk… and eat some more… We’d drink hot tea with the cheese, which of course had us all sweating profusely, and so even in the winter we had to open the windows. I fondly remember those days, and I’m kind of hoping to share this with friends here a little more often. It is such a perfect cold weather dish. And as I’ve said before, there is nothing like gathering around a dinner table with friends.

Last night I finally got around to making the Pumpkin Streusel Pie from FastPaleo.com. I printed out the recipe a few days ago, and somehow life got in the way or something. πŸ˜‰ Well, friends, what can I say? I will never use another pumpkin pie recipe EVER AGAIN!!! This is unbelievably delicious, and I had a slice for breakfast. Yum!!

I did tweak the crust. The recipe says to grind nuts finely and use for the crust. Did that and felt I didn’t have nearly enough to even cover the bottom of my pie pan. So I decided to use the recipe for the pie crust in Make it Paleo. Worked like a charm, and the pie came out beautifully. I love when recipes work out for me. LOL And my family loves it too. πŸ˜‰ I really ought to start cooking for other people… I’m afraid we’re all going to get fat on this paleo diet with all the yummy sweat treats I want to make. πŸ˜‰

3 thoughts on “Raclette and Pumpkin Streusel Pie… yum!”

Leave a Reply

