Chicken tomato soup… yum!

Good grief, you gotta love the Pacific Northwest. We were blessed with an amazing summer… Day after day of glorious sunshine, warmth, and beauty. This weather continued into September and even into October, and then, one day, it was over… just like that.

We went from warm and sunny every day to cold and rainy every day! And I’m doing my very best to adjust to this drastic change without complaining too much. Because really, I love living here… most of the time, even though I’d appreciate a little more transition time. Of course, this kind of weather awakens the urge to curl up on the couch with a cup of tea, a piece of dark chocolate (the really, really dark kind, so you simply cannot eat too much of it), and a good book (have I ever advertised my book Planned here? It’s awesome… and super cheap… and you want it!!). Uhm, where was I? Oh yes, good book, tea… got it.

Another thing that happens during these cold days is the craving for soup. Mind you, I didn’t even like soup until a few years ago. Funny how things change. I’m a sucker for good soup now. My best friend made a butternut squash soup recently, and it was to die for delicious. I shall cook and post about it in the next couple of days.

What you see on the picture is the simplest soup of them all.

Ingredients:

a couple (or three or four) chicken breasts
1 onion (sliced)
2 cloves garlic (sliced or diced or whatever you like)
2 jars of chicken stock
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
salt and pepper
paprika
turmeric
chili powder

cheddar cheese and avocado (optional)

Heat a big pot, throw in some fat of your choice (yesterday I used butter, but I usually prefer bacon grease), and cook the chicken all around on high heat. After a couple of minutes add the onion, stir well for a minute or so. Now add the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, stir well. Finally add the chicken stock and spices. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and cook for about 30 minutes.

The meat will be very tender at that point, and if you eat dairy, sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top. Last night I also diced some avocado into my soup. I don’t do this until I sit down to eat, though.

This meal hits the spot every time, and on a cold and rainy day such as yesterday, it’s not just food for the body… but also for the soul.

One thought on “Chicken tomato soup… yum!”

Leave a Reply

