Why are you not losing weight on the Paleo Diet?

Wow… I am still totally amazed when I look at my before and after pictures. I would definitely consider that a paleo success. After years and years of yo-yo dieting, I am finally the person I knew I could be. No more “suck it up, at this age you just don’t lose weight”. Wrong, at this age… and at 10 years older, and at 20 years older, it is absolutely possible to lose weight and keep it down on a paleo diet.

But what if you don’t lose weight, or what if you are starting to see the pounds creep back on to your hips and belly, despite the fact, that you “eat well and exercise”?

What is wrong? Chances are, it is one of two answers!

1) You’re getting 80/20 all wrong, meaning you’re 100% paleo 80% of the time. I think there is a t-shirt out there with that phrase on it. If you eat a healthy breakfast of eggs and bacon in the morning, and a healthy lunch of salad with steak strips and avocado, and a bowl of pasta for dinner on Monday, then do the same thing on Tuesday, but instead of pasta for dinner you have pizza… well… that means you’re getting it wrong. šŸ˜‰ The 80/20 rule is there to give you the opportunity to indulge in your favorite foods every now and then. If you’re out with your friends, at a party, or you just really want “that treat”, then by all means go for it (if you can still stomach it, that is). But as soon as you see this occasional treat Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday of the same week, you’ll want to re-evaluate what you’re doing to yourself.

2) You’re cooking all paleo all the time… great, healthy meals, and paleo muffins, paleo brownies, paleo pie, paleo cake, paleo pancakes, paleo waffles, paleo cookies. Notice anything? All these treats are great, don’t get me wrong, and with the ever growing dessert and baked goods sections on FastPaleo.com, it would be easy to make a different treat every single day of the year. These recipes certainly are a life saver in my house. They were the way to get my kids to go mostly paleo with me.
BUT… look at what is in these treats. Lots of nuts and lots of honey and coconut crystals. Eat that stuff every day in addition to your meat and vegetables, and you will start seeing the number on the scale go up. These treats are meant to be just that… a treat, not a staple in your daily meal plan.

We all fall off the bandwagon every now and then (well, maybe not all of us). I know it’s happened to me several times over the past 21 months. Don’t beat yourself up over it. Get back on and don’t look back, and know that you are not alone. There are a ton of places to turn for support in your journey. Reading a couple of success stories on Mark’s Daily Apple always does the trick for me. šŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Why are you not losing weight on the Paleo Diet?”

  1. Hi, I started clean eating in about August last year lost ten kgs, switched to paleo, increased my excercise and since then nothing.. no weight loss, no measurement changes… just nothing. I dont make paleo treats, i restrict my fruit and my carby veg, i have even reduced the amount of meat im having in case im getting too much animal fat. I have about 15 – 20kgs to lose still so I am just completely stumped as to why nothing is changing.. i know i should be happy that im healthier than ever but finding it really hard to stay positive when im working my butt off for no results. I know i need to increase my sleep thats the one thing i definitely dont get enough of. Any advice would be so appreciated!!

  2. Dear Ashley,lots of things could be the reason for your struggle. I'm so sorry to read this, and I totally understand how frustrated are. Sadly, I'm not a doctor, and even if I was, I'd have to see the whole picture. Blood levels, amount of protein vs fat, vs carbs, etc. What I suggest you do, is to read up. Mark Sisson has several posts on the subject of struggling to lose weight. One is here! http://www.marksdailyapple.com/9-ways-sabotaging-weight-loss/#axzz2K2OI6asTAnd one is here! http://www.marksdailyapple.com/17-reasons-youre-not-losing-weight/#axzz2K2OI6asTYou could also try doing a Whole30. If none of it helps, you may want to try to find a paleo doctor. There is a paleo doctor network. Someone who understands your lifestyle may be better able to help you fine tune your diet. I wish you much luck!

  3. Sounds like you're not eating enough animal fat. That's the basis for your energy requirement … if you are not eating starchy carbs then your body needs a new energy source so it uses the fat from protein to create it. I'm not advocating eating huge amounts of protein but you can't do paleo or primal properly without changing the view that fat makes you fat … it certainly does not.

  4. Hello!My husband and I have been doing Paleo for the last 2 weeks and Crossfit for almost a month now (about 3x a week). I am 5'1" and 148 lbs. My husband has slimmed up quickly, but I am struggling to lose anything.Our diet has been about 45% protein, 35% fat and 20% carbs (mostly fruit). I eat only about 1200 calories a day and burn about 800 cals a workout. I desperately need to lose pounds (the military only looks at weight not BMI). Is there anything else I can do???Thanks for all the help!!!!

  5. Sarah,we all lose weight differently. Just recently a friend of mine started the paleo diet with her husband. It took her 4 weeks to start seeing any kind of weight loss at all. Hang in there. Also, I think you need to stop counting calories for a while. It's great that you're so informed about what goes into your body, but I strongly believe that it's time for you to learn what it is your body wants and needs and to listen to it. Up your animal fat, eat when you're hungry and stop when you're full. Don't overeat. I have not counted calories for 2 years now. It's very liberating!! Good luck and all the best.

Leave a Reply

