A couch, a glass of wine, and some recipes

So I was banned to the couch by my husband, after hurting myself yet again today. It appears that sitting is the only thing I can do reasonably safely… IF of course I don’t twist my upper body to the right or left, like I did in the car today. Yep, all it takes these days to throw out my back is to do a little upper body twist.

And now I’m sitting on the couch with a glass of wine, a particularly disgusting episode of Mythbusters, and my laptop. And I decided to share a couple of recipes with you all. First of, I made pancakes this morning… a little variation of the almond flour pancakes I usually make:

Almond Pumpkin Pancakes

You need:

2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
4 eggs
1/3 cup coconut milk
3 tbsp coconut oil, melted
2 tbsp honey (or more if you like it sweeter)
a little bit of unsweetened cocoa powder
cinnamon to taste

Mix all ingredients (except coconut oil) together. Lastly, add the coconut oil and mix until well combined. The reason for adding the coconut oil last is to avoid the coconut oil becoming solid.
Heat a skillet to medium low heat and always use plenty of coconut oil to cook your pancakes.
Form small, not too thick pancakes in the skillet and cook on medium low or lower. You’ll know to turn them over when they edges get a little lighter in color. You’ll want the pancakes to be small enough to easily fit onto a spatula.
Remember, these are not like your regular pancakes. They don’t bubble, and flipping them is not quite as easy as with regular pancakes. But these are great and it’s well worth the little extra care. 🙂

I used a bunch of fruit that we picked during the summer and cooked them with just a bit of honey and cinnamon. I don’t use water. There is enough moisture in the fruit.

These pancakes taste delicious!!

I also cooked the Spaghetti Squash alla Carbonara by the Paleo Parents for dinner! I’ve made this before, but I don’t know that the first time my family was jumping up and down about it as much as they did yesterday. I made a big pot full, expecting to have plenty of leftovers. Well, I was very wrong. This meal was a big hit, and it disappeared in no time!

What an amazingly easy, yet awesome recipe! Yum!!!

Leave a Reply

