Muffins and Schaschlik… so delicious

It’s fall… even though it doesn’t seem like fall in Portland quite yet. We still get those very sunny, 70s days. And we’re loving it, although I’ll say that all the pumpkins and fall decorations everywhere just don’t seem right, when the weather is this gorgeous. And don’t even get me started on the Christmas stuff that I’m seeing everywhere I go. What is with that??

Nevertheless, it was time to celebrate fall with a pumpkin treat, and so I baked Pumpkin Pie Muffins, a recipe by George, the Civilized Caveman. This was two days ago. Of the 12 muffins, we have one left today. What does that mean? I didn’t make enough. I should have doubled up the recipe! So, yes, we LOVED those muffins, even without the added walnuts. I did add a few raisins into the last three muffins, because I’m a sucker for raisins. Sadly, I didn’t actually get to taste them.
As for baking time… in my oven these muffins were not done after 20 minutes, so I left them in another 5 or 6 minutes, and even then, they were still pretty mushy inside. Next time I’ll leave them in for a solid half hour. Thanks, George! What a great, healthy, fall themed treat!!

On to my next recipe… Schaschlik. This is one of my own recipes that I uploaded to FastPaleo a while ago. And it’s a family favorite. I really love the combination of meat, pickles, peppers, tomato and curry powder. So very delicious.
Only this time, to make the sauce a little thicker, I added a tablespoon of arrowroot powder to a small bowl of water and poured it into my boiling sauce. Perfect!!
The cauliflower rice was a great substitute for real rice. I’d really like to eat Sushi with cauliflower rice. 😉

Today, I’m making brownies! Yum!!

Leave a Reply

