Can I have some cheese with that whine?

Watch out, for this will be a post laden with self pity. It’s my blog, so I get to whine every now and then, right? You may tell me that I had it coming, as Crossfitters are ALL going to get injured at some point in their fabulous Crossfit “career”.

Of course, not all injure their backs the way I did. I can handle the ripped up hands from the pull ups, and the bloody shins from box jumps, and I really don’t mind the bruises on my hands and arms from the double-unders. They are all minor injuries, and they don’t slow me down. A bandaid will fix it.

But an achy back? That’s here to stay… in my case it’s been two months, and I’m so sick of it, I am about to go a little crazy. I go through phases of enthusiasm and accept my fate. Even I can’t sit and mope all day every day. But for cryin’ out loud, two months? When will I ever get better? If picking up a heavy laundry basket makes me cringe, when will I ever do another deadlift?

Sure, it would be easy to blame Crossfit for it. But the fact is, I have no one but myself to blame for this. When I first felt sore in my lower back, I should have listened to my body and seen a chiropractor. Instead I deadlifted 185lbs… and two weeks later did the real damage with some clean and jerks. I know the exact moment it happened. My coach walked past me, as I didn’t watch my form, and yelled, “Watch that form, Ute!” Alas, it was too late. Did that make me stop? NO! Something is obviously very wrong with me. Instead of acknowledging that I just hurt myself and stopping the WOD, I continued.

Two months later I’m a whiny mess. Sure, I go to Crossfit… about twice a week, ever so carefully completing my WODs, modifying them if there are any lifting moves or box jumps involved. But I’m used to doing this 4 to 5 times a week. I love doing Crossfit. It keeps me sane, and I love feeling stronger and fitter. Now, I’m just starting to feel like pudding.

I’ve seen a chiropractor, got massages, do stretches every day… but it appears that only time will take care of this for me, and sadly not soon enough. 😦

Leave a Reply

