Chocolate Chip Cookies and Mexi Cauli "Rice"

So, I decided to drop the counting of the days and just post the recipes instead. I’m cooking up a storm over here. In the past couple of days I’ve made some repeats like the pizza and the very delicious granola. The two new recipes I’m going to chat about today are the Almond Butter Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies (ABCCCC!) and the Beefy Mexi Cauli Rice.

Let’s start with the ABCCCC. I really don’t know why mine didn’t turn out as pretty as The Unrefined Kitchen’s, but who cares… because they were so friggin’ delicious, that I had to stop my family from coming back for more… especially right before dinner!! The batter is super sticky, and if you put too much on the cookie sheet, they’ll just turn huge (which in this house is just fine… the bigger the better). I had to bake them a bit longer than called for in the recipe, but that may have to do with the fact, that mine came out too big. 😉 I highly recommend this recipe. It’s super quick and easy… and well, yes, very very delicious!

And now for the Beefy Mexi Cauli Rice! Vanessa at http://www.healthylivinghowto.com posted this recipe on FastPaleo.com. The verdict? Yum yum yum!!!

I did add some cumin and turmeric to the mix of spices, because that just belongs into my Germanized Mexican food. And because I had some fresh cilantro left, I added that as well 😉 Instead of goat yogurt, I used sour cream. And yes, I also added a bit of cheddar cheese. Nomz!

We ate this yummy meal just as you see it on the picture. But it could also be enjoyed wrapped in lettuce leaves. A great potluck food, if you ask me. Yet again, we have a keeper. Thank you, Vanessa!

Here is a bit of information on cilantro from The Global Healing Center!

This herb isn’t just a commonly-used leaf and seed ingredient found in many tasty and exotic recipes, it’s also a powerful natural cleansing agent. Cilantro has been effectively used to help remove heavy metals and other toxic agents from the body.
The chemical compounds in cilantro actually bind to the heavy metals, loosening them from the tissues, blood and organs. Cilantro’s chemical compounds then aid to transport these harmful substances out of the body through elimination.
There is also a large amount of literature suggesting that cilantro could be one of nature’s best bonding agents, particularly for individuals who have been exposed to heightened levels of mercury. Mercury excess is a common problem that may be the result of metallic teeth fillings or over-consumption of predatory fish

Leave a Reply

