Day 9 and 10 and Happy Birthday to me :)

 So it’s my birthday once again. I am 38 years old today, and I have about a hundred million things to be grateful for. Awesome family, truly amazing friends, my health, a strong and fit body, and since June a fantastic job that I love.

I love my life, I really do… with all the little bumps in the road, the challenges, the highs and lows. It’s a great ride, and it keeps getting better.

 Yes, I’m older… not necessarily wiser, but full of ideas and full of energy. I’m just starting to grow up, and to understand who I really am and what I want.

Being paleo and doing Crossfit are probably the two biggest changes I’ve made in my life in the past two years. And both have made my life better, they have made me stronger, and I am healthier than I have ever been before. Yes, I’ve also thrown out my back lifting heavy weights… But well, it’s just another lesson learned.

 Day 9: I made Paleo Granittle Cereal (paleo granola) submitted to FastPaleo by Meghan. It turned out beautifully, although I chose to add the raisins to the mix before baking. I love baked raisins.

This is an amazing snack, and I’ll have to watch the family carefully, as they’ll make it disappear in 24 hours otherwise. Can’t have that! This makes for a great snack on the go! Carried in a small container it’ll fit in a purse or backpack.

Day 10: Instead of baking an actual birthday cake for myself (that’s just too weird), I decided to make almond zucchini bread, submitted to FastPaleo by mmanika.

We loved this bread the first two times I made it, and it is quickly becoming a staple in my house. Today, I felt the batter was just a little too runny, so I added three tablespoons of chia seeds! Turned out to be a fabulous idea, and it’s good for you too! This bread can be eaten as is, or you can chocolate chips or raisins or walnuts. Everyone here just devours the bread, but let me tell you, that there is nothing quite as delicious as a warm slice with some butter. Decadent!
IMPORTANT: I don’t use two pans but one bigger one. This means I have to bake the bread around 40 minutes. 

As some of you may know we are one of those weird, crazy homeschool families. To us this means, that tomorrow things are starting back up for us… homeschool classes, ballet, karate, field trips and such. Quite frankly, I’m not sure how to add the home back into homeschooling sometimes.
This means, that I may decide to write my blog posts every other day rather than every single day, really depending on just how crazy things are going to get.

Thanks to the CrockPot recipe contest on FastPaleo I will have lots of slow cooker recipes to choose from this fall. And I’ll make very good use of them! I look forward to reviewing all of those recipes and sharing with you.

I’m going to spend the rest of my day playing with my new toy (a really, really nice camera), getting a manicure from my daughter, chauffeuring kids to ballet and karate, and finally dinner at a German restaurant, where they have a great gluten free menu for difficult people like me!

This year I intend to become a better person… while I’m embracing who I am. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

