Day 6, Greek salad for lunch,Chicken Tortilla-less Soup

This picture belongs to Paleo Comfort Foods!!

You know what I was thinking today, as I looked at the measly six days that I have been doing this, and the 359 days I still have ahead of me? “What the hell was I thinking? Good Lord, who does a ONE YEAR CHALLENGE?” On a day like this, when I finally went back to Crossfit after hurting my back (doing Crossfit), when temperatures hit 90F and I have nothing better to do than to walk to a frozen yogurt place… who wants to cook? And not just that! The only thing thawed was CHICKEN! *Insert nervous eyelid twitch here* So, what was for dinner tonight? Soup! Because we are not quite hot enough yet!

Okay, all the bad feelings subsided just as soon as the soup was slowly simmering on the stove, and the air was filled with cumin, chili powder, and cayenne. But, I will admit that I totally cheated. I just did not have it in my to bake the chicken for 45 minutes, just so I could shred it. Instead I cut it all into bite sized pieces, seasoned and cooked in my cast iron pan until slightly browned on all sides, then tossed it in the soup with the other ingredients. I let the whole thing cook for about 30 minutes on medium-low to low heat, and what can I say? It came out wonderfully. It’s a good thing we all love chicken tortilla(less) soup. Not all of us like avocado though. So some of us passed on that and sprinkled some cheddar cheese on their soup instead.

It really was a delicious meal. Just imagine how amazing it would be in, say, October… when it’s cold outside, and we return from a walk in the forest! As I’m looking out my window at green trees, a blue sky (okay, very dark blue as the sun is setting), and the window is wide open, I’m having a hard time imagining fall… and winter. But well, we live in Oregon. It’ll be here… soon! Very soon!

Finally, a thank you to Paleo Comfort Foods for the yummy recipe and for sharing it with all of us on FastPaleo.com!

Leave a Reply

