Day 2, Italian Prunes and Braised Beef! Yum!

Where I grew up in Germany, Italian Prunes were the fruit of late summer and early fall. We’d go crazy making preserves, cakes, freeze them, eat them fresh from the tree. And so, for me, eating Italian Prunes is not just about eating a fruit… it brings back precious childhood memories. 

Then I moved to Phoenix, Arizona and didn’t really get much fresh stuff at all, and most certainly no Italian Prunes. Only when we made our move to Oregon, I was finally able to indulge again. Every year we go to a upick farm and pick at least 20lbs of the prunes. Of course, what would I do without my beloved cake? So I took my German cake recipe and made it Primal friendly. Notice I said Primal rather than Paleo. That’s because I choose to use butter in this recipe.

Ingredients:

2 cups almond flour
1 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup coconut crystals
2/3 cup raw honey
2tsp baking powder
6 eggs
a swish of vanilla extract
1 stick and 3tbsp soft butter
2.5lbs of Italian Prunes

Preheat oven to 350F and grease a cookie sheet.
In a bowl combine all dry ingredients and set aside. In a separate bowl combine all wet ingredients and mix with a handmixer until fluffy. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until combined.
Spread the dough onto the entire cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes.
Remove from oven and cover the cake with the prunes. Be sure to put the skin side down, otherwise the juices will soak into the dough and turn the cake into mush.
Bake the cake for about 40 minutes, turn the oven off, open the door a bit and leave the cake in for another 10 minutes or so. It’s best if you let the cake cool a bit before you eat it. It tends to fall apart when it’s very warm. Everyone in my German/American family quite enjoyed this yummy treat!!

~~~

For lunch we had leftover chicken drumsticks from last night. I cut the meat off the bones and cooked them with zucchini in my cast iron pan. I added some more coconut aminos and red curry paste for flavor. Then I served it all over spinach salad. Quick, easy, delicious.

~~~

For dinner we ate Merlot Braised Beef, a recipe by Esther from Paleo on Main. I really didn’t make any changes, because I don’t have a whole lot of experience with beef roasts. I did use my dutch oven to cook the roast.

As you can see, there is plenty of sauce on the plate with the meat. We have lots of sauce and some meat left. I am definitely going to keep the sauce to pour over another meal soon.

This was an amazing meal, and so easy to make. Took all of 20 minutes to prepare. Then the oven did the rest. I used lots of celery and carrots, so a side was unnecessary. But, I think next time we’ll add some cauliflower and turnips to the sauce about an hour before the roast is done. The vegetables will soak up the sauce, and it’ll taste even better I’m sure.

Well, Day 2 was another hit! We all loved it, and now I’m off for a piece of that delicious cake.

2 thoughts on “Day 2, Italian Prunes and Braised Beef! Yum!”

  1. Dear Anonymous,German girl, living the dream, I see.The childhood memorys which are coming back by taste or smell, very special, always love it when that happens.Nothing for me to try, I am patiently waiting for meals to copy ;).Keep it up, for next time work on your photo skills. I will not call names on the Beef.

  2. Living the dream… hmmm, I live my life, and try to make my dreams a reality. :)Hey, you can always check FastPaleo.com for recipes to copy if you find nothing here.

Leave a Reply

