Day 1: Curry Lime Chicken Wings

Woooweee!! Day 1 is over, and I made the Curry Lime Chicken Wings.

The verdict? Definitely a keeper! They were juicy and delicious, with just a hint of spice!

I tweaked the recipe just a tad, and here’s how:

The recipe says to cook the wings any which way you like (she baked it in the oven). Well, it’s summer and warm, and I decided to throw my chicken on the grill (I used drumsticks rather than wings). I preheated the grill, then turned down the heat to low, and threw the drumsticks on without any seasonings. I then made the sauce, according to the recipe, BUT I added the coconut oil to the sauce, because I know that the grill has a tendency to dry out the meat. As soon as the sauce was boiling, I took it off the stove and used a brush to coat the drumsticks.
After a few more minutes, I turned over the chicken and covered the other side with the sauce. I had just enough to cover 15 drumsticks.
 
As a side I made a simple green salad with a tomato. For my dressing I use 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 3 tbsp olive oil, salt and pepper. I usually like my salads with a little more oomph… but, with this chicken a nice mild salad was just the way to go.

Day 1 was a complete success, and my thanks goes to “mamaelf” at http://mypaleorecipebox.wordpress.com/!

4 thoughts on “Day 1: Curry Lime Chicken Wings”

  1. Thank you so much–I am really glad you liked them! I told my husband the other day we should try grilling the wings one of these times, as I think the flavors in the sauce would really complement the grilled flavor! I do add the coconut oil to my sauce, just after it's been removed from the heat a bit so it stays just a little thicker. πŸ˜‰ This was so much fun to read, thank you again. I can't wait to keep reading about your challenge! πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Anonymous,Not bad, although the side seems abit lazy ;).Unfortunately I dont happen to have a nice barbecue in my appartment, nor propper good "whole-food-meat" to my hand to follow.How do you feel about the challenge after the first storm is gone, or is it?

  3. Thank you for stopping by, Nissa. πŸ™‚ I know, it's been only one day, but it was so much fun, and I'm really looking forward to the upcoming week and all the recipes I'm going to try.

  4. Yes, the side was maybe a bit lazy. πŸ™‚ You got me. I was out all day, and by the time I got around to cooking dinner, I wanted it to be quick and easy. Fortunately you don't need a barbecue for this recipe. You can use your oven, or you can even cook the wings in a pan on low heat. I'm excited about the upcoming week and all the recipes I'll try. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

