Nom nom! Paleo Pancakes

So, this right there is supposed to be a picture of the awesomely delicious paleo pancake recipe from Fast Paleo, that I made this morning. And then I forgot, and all I had left was this empty plate.

Yes, the pancakes were scrumptious, and both kids and my husband devoured them. And I did, too, of course. I did tweak the recipe a bit, and I will share with you just exactly what changes I made.

Here is the recipe as listed on the Fast Paleo website:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups fresh strawberries, diced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup egg whites plus 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup vanilla egg white protein
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp sweetener of choice
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda

Cooking Steps

Syrup:
Combine the water and strawberries in a saucepan and bring to a boil
Once boiling, turn down and simmer for 15-20 minutes
Pancakes:
Add all ingredients in a blender and combine
Heat an oiled skillet to med-high heat
Use 1/3- 1/2 cup batter and spread out a little as it is thick
Cook until lightly brown and flip to cook the other side
Makes about 8 small pancakes and 2-3 servings of syrup

I have no egg white protein (I didn’t even know there was such a thing as egg white protein powder!), so I decided to use a quarter cup of chia seed meal instead. I have a ton of chia seeds and ground them in my Magic Bullet. The Bullet makes a very fine powder, so you won’t get the jelly texture that is so characteristic for chia seeds.
Instead of 1/8 tsp of baking soda I added 1/4 tsp.
Also, instead of turning the stove to medium-high heat, but cooked them on medium-low. Good things will take a little time. 
The pancakes came out incredibly fluffy.

For the syrup, I used a combination of raspberries and boysenberries. I don’t ever use water to make syrup. There is enough juice in the fruit. Because the boysenberries were pretty tart, I added a tbsp of honey. I cooked the syrup for about 15 minutes.

Yum! These are truly delicious!

Leave a Reply

