The Paleo Bread

Courtesy of Paleo Bread By Julian Bakery

It is here! Well, almost… The Paleo Bread! It will be distributed to stores around the country starting June 29th. Paleo peeps rejoice, as they are salivating over the possibility of sinking their teeth into the fresh, fluffy goodness of bread with ham, cheese, mayo, pickles, and tomatoes. Finally, we no longer have to suffer through our sad little lives of Paleo doom. Imagine the possibilities! Almond butter and jam sandwiches, ham and cheese, French toast… you name it. With the Paleo Bread it is all possible. And it’s Paleo!!!

Or… is it?

Friends, when you started your Paleo journey… no, wait, let’s make this about me! When I started my Paleo journey, I was your regular bread and pasta junky! Bread for breakfast, bread for lunch, pasta for dinner. Sleep. Repeat. Then I dove into the subject of Paleo-ism… and I found that wheat is not my friend. With a heavy heart I quit eating bread (and pasta, and rice, and legumes… etc!) I wondered how I will find substitutes, especially for my lunch time sandwiches. It took a little while for my brain to shift and get the idea, that maybe substitutes weren’t what I needed to be looking for. Maybe sandwiches, to me, could be a thing of the past, and I could eat other things instead. I came up with all kinds of wonderful solutions to this “problem”… and so, I have not eaten a sandwich in 18 months.

The Paleo Bread comes as almond flour bread and as coconut flour bread. We’ve all learned that coconut flour and almonds are great for us. Or well, we’ve learned that almonds are almost great for us. Enjoyed in moderation, after soaking, sprouting, and dehydrating them, a handful of almonds a day makes for a wonderful snack. The occasional almond flour pancake breakfast brings ultimate joy and Oooohs and Aaaahs to my house. And it’s wonderful to live in the 21st century and be able to offer this treat to my family.

BUT, should you be indulging in paleo bread every day? Absolutely not. Chances are, the almonds used for this bread are not raw, nor soaked, nor dehydrated, and therefore not as easily digestible. Meaning, phytic acids (naturally occurring in almonds) binds to vital minerals in your gut, making it impossible to be absorbed into your intestine… and down the road will lead to a mineral deficiency. (Read this lengthy article on Mark’s Daily Apple if you feel so inclined). You will also throw off your omega 6/3 balance by eating too many almonds.

Having said all that… I will likely give this bread a try. Well, let’s say, I’ll let my kids give it a try, because I honestly don’t have that much of an interest. But it shall remain a treat, and it will not become a household stable. I made a conscious decision to be Paleo. And things like paleo bread, no matter how delicious it tastes, will remain the lesser evil, to be enjoyed in moderation (like, really, really!!), but will certainly never become a main source of nutrition for me.

13 thoughts on “The Paleo Bread”

  1. Here, here! (or is it hear, hear!?) I knew you would say this, but I'm glad you blogged about it for others to see. I'll try a slice…well maybe, maybe not. I've been without sandwiches for so long and there are soooooo many other things to eat, well, you know how it is. After all, we're pretty much on the same page. πŸ˜‰

  2. I really don't think there is anything wrong with trying it… and even enjoying the occasional sandwich or French toast or what have you. I am just a little worried, that the Paleo diet is increasingly becoming a new SAD… convenience goes above everything else. And soon enough we are sick from different things, and Paleo (or the various versions of it) will have been a fad like all the other diets out there. And that is not what we're trying to accomplish. πŸ™‚

  3. Interesting! I personally don't miss bread one bit but maybe this can be part of the 20% of the 80/20 rule?! I admit my teenage boys are really hard to keep up with as far as keeping them full. They eat ALL the time and are ALWAYS hungry. I recently started buying rice pasta to use occasionally with them. I realize it can be a slippery slope though. That said, my husband let them buy some Ben & Jerry's lately too…oh it's impossible to be perfect!

  4. I hear ya about the boys being constantly hungry. And I don't believe in forcing them to always eat "clean". Oh, and hey, who doesn't love the occasional Ben & Jerry's ice cream? πŸ˜‰

  5. I hear you loud and clear. I, too, an worried about all these pre-packaged Paleo foods when we're not supposed to be eating much in the way of pre-packaged stuff with labels on them anyway.As we all know, pre-packaging usually means too much salt, sugar, and things we can't pronounce, let alone comprehend.

  6. Just thought we would chime in and say the almonds are soaked and then skinned as we used blanched almond flour in our Paleo Bread. This removed the Phytic Acid. Also remember that we also have Paleo Bread- Coconut which is Grain & Starch Free!

  7. Just thought we would chime in and say the almonds are soaked and then skinned as we used blanched almond flour in our Paleo Bread. This process removes the Phytic Acid. Also remember that we also have Paleo Bread- Coconut which is Grain & Starch Free!

  8. In reference to the comment above from Mark about our bread. All Julian Bakery breads are lab verified for nutritional accuracy so anyone writing anything else is simply not informed properly.

Leave a Reply

