Another imported blog post from my old blog…

Ya see that big smile on my face? Don’t think for even a moment, that I’m smiling like that because I’m some super runner who could go on for hours. This smile is the smile of a woman who is incredibly relieved to see the finish line, because there is no way she could have made it for even one more mile.

Yep, I was done, and seeing my family cheer and call out to me, that was the greatest moment of my Mother’s Day. I couldn’t have been happier to see them. 😉

In the afternoon I was chatting with some friends about what went through my head throughout the race, and looking back, it’s actually quite hysterical, so I will share with all of you. Maybe you’ll get a good laugh out of it as well. Before I give you access to my brain though, let me tell you a little about what the race was like. It was a flat route for the entire 13.1 miles, and we ran the same loop twice. “We”, being 3,000 runners! The weather was actually perfect for running a race… overcast and cool. Couldn’t have asked for a better running day.

And so, here it goes.

First loop:

“Oh, this is easy. I could do this for hours.”
“Damn Runkeeper. Why is it not counting my distance? Fine, I’ll turn it off.”
“Look, grass. I’ll run on that.” (Reminder: I run in the Vibram Five Fingers)
“Ha! Haven’t heard that song in ages.”
“Oh, hey there, J.J.” (That was something I actually said. LOL)
“Cool country road.”
“Wow, I like her stockings.”
“What the heck is it with those stockings? Are they supposed to be good for something? I wonder if they’re compression stockings.”
“Nice butt. I wonder what my butt looks like in these pants.”

Beginning of second loop:

“Great, why is there a rock in my shoe? You’re supposed to keep rocks out, Vibrams!”
“I hate this song. Why’d I put it on there?”
“Love that shirt. Must remember that line.” (Did I remember the line? Nope!)
“Hey, where’d this speedy chick come from?”
“Finally, back on the grass.”
“Damn, my left foot hurts.”

Around mile 9:

“Phhhh, I really don’t like running all that much.”
“Why do I keep doing this?”
“Hello-hooo… is there a water station anywhere?”
“Okay, what’s up wit this? Am I getting slower or are they getting faster?”
“Ouch, my left foot, damn it.”

Around mile 11:

“I will NEVER run a marathon. As a matter of fact, I think I’ll tell B. that I’m done running.”
“Stupid me. Why’d I buy that “love to run” necklace? I hate running.”
“Hey, you, tall, big girl in the pink shirt! You will NOT cross the finish line before me!”
“Ha, told ya, you weren’t faster than me.”
“Damn it, I told you not to cross the finish line before.”
“Neener neener. I’m beating you!!”

Mile 13:

“Oh my gosh, that’s it. I did it!”
“There they are! Cool!!” (They being my family.)
“Woooohoooooo!!!” (Calling out to my family.)
“And I’m done!”

About two hours later:

“I wonder how I can improve my running, so I can be in even better shape during the next race.”

Yep, that’s how it happened. Lots of random thoughts. Somewhere in there I was also thinking about a Facebook conversation I’d had with a friend, about what my next post for this blog might be, and how incredibly hungry I would be for the rest of the day.

Burgers, sausages, and bacon hit the spot in the afternoon. Of course I’m still craving lots of protein today. Steaks for dinner, baby!

2 thoughts on “Another imported blog post from my old blog…”

Leave a Reply

